Destined For Something Bigger Than Your Skin? (Author’s Note)

Unfortunately, this isn’t an update; or at least this isn’t an update on my story, Different Winters. It is, however, an update on my life, which I give to you because it will probably affect Different Winters in a rather profound way…..

So LilyShadowWriter, stop being vague and tell us what it is you’re rambling about! Okay, okay =P This year, I applied to, and was accepted into, a program called Teach for America. Some of you may have heard of it already, but for those of you who haven’t, Teach for America is an organization founded because here in the United States, a sad reality of life is that where one is born largely predicts whether or not you will receive a quality education.

Now in such a “prosperous” nation such as this founded on the ideals of freedom and equality, this is pretty ridiculous. Heck, this is ridiculous anywhere, but it seems especially so when the children of one of the richest countries in the world filled with all these opportunities (as people so often say), cannot even get a good education. Ehhh, but hold on, let’s backtrack…SOME of the children get excellent educations, but not ALL of them, and this gap is almost entirely related to a families’ socioeconomic status. A gap in education between the rich and the poor…and the gap starts early. By the time kids reach 4th grade, those that live in low-income communities are already two to three grade levels behind their higher-income peers. About half of them will graduate high school by age 18, and those who do…perform on an eighth grade level. This…well, is not good, to say the least, and so Teach For America was founded (as well as lots of other organizations of course!) to try and close this achievement gap by placing well-trained individuals into these areas to provide these kids with the excellent education they so deserve so that they may go on to achieve great things. Now, there’s more to it than that of course, as this is a pretty far reaching problem with no easy answers, but that’s the basic idea, and this summer, I’m going to be trained to be one of those teachers! Eep o_o

So what in the world does this mean for Different Winters!?!? ….it means updates may potentially be few and far apart ='( Now my original goal was to get the 2nd generation done before I move on the 14th, but I’ve just had SO much to do to prepare that that hasn’t happened and I didn’t want to rush it. So…yeah. Sigh =(

BUT, (OMG MAYBE GOOD NEWS PLZ!?), even though my first commitment is to learning as much as I possibly can and being the best that I possibly can for my future students…I will still need to take little breaks here and there for my mental health, and it is very likely that I would work on this blog during those breaks, because writing is something that I have loved doing my entire life and I couldn’t imagine staying away from it for very long. That and um, THE SIMS is something that I’ve loved since I was um…13, and that is not going to be changing anytime soon!!

Soooooooooooo long story short, I shall be very busy over the next few months as I prepare for this incredible task, but I promise I will do my best to continue this blog (because I love it so much!)….the updates will just be fewer and far between.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your support and I hope all of you continue to stick with Different Winters because I have a lot of awesome stuff planned! =D Your interest in my blog means the world to me ^_^

But in the meantime…so long sunny Florida and hello Windy City! Chicago here I come!! =O

Oh…and sorry if I sounded a little bit preachy D= This is just something I really care about, haha, clearly =P Happy simming everyone!! ^_^ ❤

20 thoughts on “Destined For Something Bigger Than Your Skin? (Author’s Note)”

  1. Chicago must be the cool place to be right now! You’re not the only one I know who’s recently made a move there. 🙂 Congrats on your acceptance into a program you’re passionate about..that’s so great!

    I’ll be eager to read your updates whenever you have time to write them. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much! And I was actually assigned to that region (although it was one I said I was interested in :D), but it’s encouraging to know that other people want to make that move too, lol. I’m excited about it, but it’s sure to be quite different from here…haha.

  2. Congrats on your acceptance to the programme!! 😀 😀

    And don’t worry, we readers can wait as long as it takes for new updates to come out! 😀 😀

  3. Congratulations on your acceptance! And WOW Chicago!!!! I hope you have a great time, and it’s wonderful to see you so passionate about something that’s so important. I’m not American myself, so I don’t know about the schooling system very much, but you did make me feel quite guilty about the whole situation. Mainly because my aunt and uncle (who are my age, long story) attend a very posh school in DC (the one that Obama’s children attend, in fact!!!) and they have all kinds of advantages that many people wouldn’t have. So I think it’s brilliant that you and everyone else on the programme are going to help those who aren’t so fortunate!!! x

  4. What an amazing opportunity for both you and your future students…it’s not something I had really thought about, but you’re right that there is a huge inequality and it’s terribly unfair. Your future students will be lucky to have you! Also…it’s not Florida but Chicago is a great city and really quite beautiful in the summertime. My husband and I almost moved there a few years ago for me to go to school…we also have some family there so we get there a fair amount…it’s one of my favorite places!! I think you’ll have a fun time there. Good luck to you…and I look forward to catching up on your story…I am ridiculously behind on reading!! Not for not wanting to read it…just no time!!

  5. Congratulations! My sister was a Teach for America teacher in Texas. She loved her time in the program and is still teaching in that state. I think you will do really well. TFA has an excellent training program for their future teachers. It is intense summer training, but the actual teach assignments aren’t much different than regular teach assignments. The biggest difference is in the poverty of the area and of the school districts.

    I know you will be awesome. Let your passion and your knowledge carry you through.

    1. P.S. I have a cousin teaching in the suburbs of Chicago. She and her family have been there since she was in high school. She loves Chicago and also enjoys her school there, which is not one with a lot of affluence.

      Once again, congrats. I know you will make the most of it. Just remember that the key to any teaching job is management. They’ll teach you that in the TFA program, but if you haven’t got it already, I recommend Harry Wong’s “First Days of School.” It’s my go-to book and I’ve been teaching for 15 years.

  6. Great choice of serving this country. Not many young people are willing to teach in low income communities. As a teacher myself, I say, brace yourself for what I believe is a noble profession. Nothing beats after a long stressful day with the students, having one guy come up and say Mr. J, you’re not half bad. lol
    But in all seriousness, congratulations and I agree with the above comment, Harry Wong’s book is awesome. It’s fun and gets you to focus.

  7. Oh wow, that’s really amazing of you Lil! Congraaaats!!! Chicago, wow, that’s really a move from Florida. Wow, just..wow!
    Congratulations, so much, girly, and have a totally awesometastic superfabuloso amazebombz time!! <33

  8. Hi! First time commenter! I love your DITFT and good luck in chi-town! Your gonna love it (I’m from there lol)

  9. Congratulations! Sounds like a fantastic opportunity for you to make a difference in the lives of others, you must be so excited. All the best!

  10. Just wanted to officially say Good Luck and congratulations since I said it on the wrong thread. XD Either way, I can’t wait for you to come back! You inspired me to push past the glitches and try another DITFT, so it’s a WIP. It’s not half a s good as yours, but I’m trying! Have fun in Chicago!

  11. First of all, CONGRATULATIONS! I’m very proud of you for your accomplishments and your dedication to helping the cause! You sound really passionate about this and I for one am glad that you are. We need more people like you in our world. The situation here where I live is exactly as you’ve mentioned where the kids in the south get a worse education. My senior year, I had a GPA of 3.9 and I was number 88. A friend had a GPA of 2.8 and he was number 88 at his school! It’s like “Are you kidding me?” The differences are astonishing 😐

    So I wish you the absolute best of luck with the training and I know you’re going to make a difference! Don’t worry about us. We’ll be here for whenever you’ve got an update 🙂

  12. Since it’s now September, and in most places school has already started, I am wondering how you are doing? I was talking with my sister today and she was lamenting that she wasn’t still with Teach for America even though she loves her current job. Talking with her, I started thinking of you and wondering how you’re doing.
    I really hope all is well, that the kids aren’t driving you mad, but that they are wonderful, deserving students who are learning a lot from you. Let us know how it’s going if you get a chance.

    1. Hehe, this was quite a while ago so I’ve already since completed my service with TFA, but thank you regardless! I hope I did make at least a little bit of a difference in the lives of my past students 🙂

    1. Aw thanks so much! I did enjoy it, but it was also the hardest thing that I have ever done in my life. Still, what I learned from the experience was invaluable, so I’m very glad that I chose to do it.

      Also, hey! Welcome to Different Winters! I’ve been seeing your “Likes” pop up on my notifications ^_^ Impressive pace! I hope you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read so far and that you’ll continue to enjoy it.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

      1. I have enjoyed it so far! ^_^ Very much so, which is why I’ve been reading so fast. 😛 You’re a pretty good writer, and I love the little bits of drama you add to the story.

So What Did You Think?

