I Just Don’t Know

I have some bad news—bad news that makes me particularly frustrated and sad.

I had Chapter 5.17 written, edited, and ready for photos. I was in the process of taking said photos (got about half of them done) when my computer just…failed. It froze up entirely. Okay…not a big deal, right? You restart it and life goes on. Only, my computer won’t start back up.

I’ve tried everything. It won’t even load up Safe Mode for god’s sake! I just…can’t even. It’s currently sitting in my room running a disk check while I type this on my old laptop. The last time I attempted this it ran for 8 hours before my idiot self, attempting to remove my Sims disc from my drive so that I can pop in the recovery one if need be, tried to force my computer to eject it by sticking a paperclip into what I thought was the “force eject” button. It was not. It turned off the battery, so when I unplugged my computer, it completely shut down in the middle of said disk check, thereby probably worsening the issue. FML.

So, this is my second attempt at a disc check. Wait no, actually third, the first time it froze and I also had to restart it. *sigh* Anyway, maybe the third time is the charm, maybe not. I really don’t know.. I can only hope.

So what does this mean for Different Winters?

Best Case Scenario: This disc check does the ticket. I regain access to my computer. About two days after this, Chapter 5.17 is blessedly posted. I cry happy tears.

Not Ideal, But Okay Scenario: This disc check finally gets me into my computer so I can back up what I need to and eject that dang disc, but my computer is borked, so I need to run a full system restore with the recovery disc. I do this, it FINALLY works, and I eventually get around to posting that chapter (maybe in a week or two).

Worst Case ScenarioI cannot start up my computer. It is dead. DEAD. I lose my 22 page Chapter 5.17. I lose the photos I took for it. I have to buy a new laptop and accordingly must live off cereal for a few months. I have to get everything back onto said new laptop, BUT GUYS I backed up my stuff about a month ago on my external hard drive, so it’s an outdated save and I’ll need to catch it back up, but the Winters SHOULD be okay. This still means I’d have to rewrite Chapter 5.17 though, which will take a while. Plus, buying the new laptop, waiting for it, setting it up, etc. etc…..In this case I’d get the next chapter up in maybe a month or two, but it eventually happens.

Obviously there’s lots of other crap that could happen here, but those are the three primary scenarios I’ve imagined and prepared for.

TLDNR: My computer died. The next chapter might be massively delayed, but I have a backup of the Winters from about a month ago, so unlike my computer, this blog is not dead.

I seriously feel so sad about all of this, but here’s hoping for the best. I hope you all will stick by me regardless and I’ll try to keep you all updated. Gah 😦

-LilyShadowWriter

29 thoughts on “I Just Don’t Know”

  1. I’m pretty computer savvy. Maybe I can help? Do you have a Mac or PC? If you have a PC, what Operating System do you have? When you press the power button, does it just constantly show the Windows button and does not load to your desktop?

    1. I have a PC–Windows 7.

      When I press the power button it actually goes right to the Disk Check since at first I WAS able to get into Safe Mode, which was when I scheduled it since it kept freezing up (figured it might fix anything that could be wrong). Of course, I sort of regret that now because said disk check just keeps running and running and running and…..yeah x_x

      On that note, now when I try to go into Safe Mode instead of doing the disk check, it won’t load. It stops loading the Windows Files when it reaches “avgidseh.sys” or something like that, which makes me think it was an issue with my most recent AVG update, but now I can’t get back into the computer to uninstall it T_T Cancelling the disk check doesn’t seem to work either…it’ll just sit there saying “Disk Check Cancelled” and nothing happens T_T

  2. You can run a check disk from system recovery options using command prompt.

    1. First, restart your computer. Right when it starts before the Windows logo appears, keep pressing the F8 button until the Advanced Boot Options screen appears.
    2. Use the arrow keys to highlight Command Prompt, and then press Enter.
    3. You will see a black window pop up. Type in: Chkdsk
    4. After running chkdsk from recovery options, you may try and schedule a check disk and check if the issue gets fixed.

    If this doesn’t work, let me know. I have other possible solutions. 🙂

    1. You can try this method too if my previous suggestion does not work:

      1. Press the ctl-alt-del buttons to break out of chkdsk.
      2. Delete the next schedule chkdsk(because it senses it
      didn’t finish) To do that:

      Power Off. Then power on, press and hold F8

      Select “disable error restart”

      1. It’s currently doing the check disk, but seems to be “stuck” on “Stage 4 of 5)…16 percent complete. 55911 of 380400 files processed.”

        Hitting Ctrl+Alt+Del does nothing x_x

        I did attempt this morning to do what you said with the F8 “disable error restart” and if I remember correctly it went to a green loading screen that said “Please wait…” and then sat THERE for ages instead.

        So I suppose here’s the dilemma…let it sit for ages on this check disk, or let it sit for ages on the “Please wait…” green screen. I have no idea which, if any, will be more likely to get me into my computer o_o;

  3. Have you tried skipping the 1st step then–since pressing ctrl+alt+del does nothing–and going to the 2nd step by deleting the next scheduled chckdsk that I submitted in my third post?

    1. And you also tried every start up option in the Advanced Boot Options menu, right? If not, try that if nothing else I’ve mentioned worked and then let me know.

      1. Tried “Last Known Good Configuration” and it just sat on a black screen. Then tried “Directory Services Restore Mode” and it loaded the Safe Mode background (says Safe Mode in all 4 corners) but no icons came up or anything else. I could only move the cursor, but not interact with the computer. Had to force shut it down and started it back up…tried to get back to the Advanced Boot Options screen and it loaded that green screen that says “Please Wait….” and then sat there for ages like usual.

        I still can’t seem to be able to cancel the Check Disk. I hit F8 upon start up, but “Command Prompt” is not an option. Here is what shows up when I enter Advanced Boot Options: http://www.sevenforums.com/attachments/tutorials/44121d1262006739-advanced-boot-options-advanced_boot_options.jpg

        None of the options have worked to boot it up so far 😦

    2. “Disable error restart” isn’t an option that comes up, but there is something called “disable automatic restart on system failure”

      I selected that, but it went right to the disk check so that clearly didn’t delete it 😦

      Thank you for all of your help thus far by the way!! Maybe I should try “last good configuration” next?

  4. NOOOO! I am so sorry that happened! Ugh, what a huge bummer! But thank God you have a backup plan and help from Stormy! I am terrified of that happening to me too.
    I currently run the Sims on my old computer, because my new computer is so current that the game would crash on it. So basically, if my old computer goes, my story goes. GAAAAH!!

    1. Hi! 🙂
      If you have Sims 3 and Windows 8, which is a HUGE issue between those two, then here is a link that might help you with that problem: http://wind8apps.com/sims-3-windows-8-crash/

      I have both Windows 7 & 8, but I haven’t ran TS3 on Windows 8 yet, so I wouldn’t know personally. I haven’t had issues with Windows 7 though and I’ve been running both TS2 and TS3 for a long time now.

      If you have Sims 2 and are running it on Windows 8, then here is another link that might help too: http://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-2/Sims-2-Ultimate-Collection-CRASHING-On-Windows-8/td-p/3189792

      Hope this helps! :/ 🙂

      1. You’re so kind! I actually don’t have windows at all. I have a Mac. My new laptop is running Yosemite, which I believe is too advanced for the Sims 3. I am running Lion on my old laptop. 🙂

    2. Thank you.

      Wow, that is scary!! Hope your computer hangs in there. Maybe you could get an external hard drive or USB and save copies of files on there to be certain you don’t lose everything?

      I’ve actually had laptops crash on me in the past too and lost loads of important information so I try to back up documents fairly often, which is why I even have the save that I do. Still, considering the state of this current chapter, it clearly wasn’t often enough, haha.

      I’m maintaining some bit of hope though that all is not lost o_o;;

  5. Okay, if you’re not getting too weary yet, here’s another possible solution:

    We’re going to try to clear the CMOS. Clearing the BIOS might be the reason why you cannot get into Safe Mode. Here’s how to access your BIOS:

    1. Restart your computer by turning it on or off.
    2. Watch for a “entering setup” message or something to that affect in the first few seconds after turning on your computer. I believe for Windows 7, you would press F2, but I could be wrong. It’s been about a year since I last had to do this to my laptop.
    3. Quickly press the key or keys instructed by the previous message to get into BIOS. Like VERY quickly. I would just keep repeatedly pressing the button as you would when entering Advanced Boot Options.

    If you’ve missed the message or didn’t press the button fast enough, reboot your computer and start again.

    HOW TO CLEAR THE BIOS:

    1. Within the BIOS, look for the Reset option. It may be named Reset to default, Load factory defaults, Clear BIOS settings, Load setup defaults, or something similar.
    2. Select it with your arrow keys, press Enter, and confirm the operation. Your BIOS will now use its default settings – if you’ve changed any BIOS settings in the past, you’ll have to change them again.

    If it asks you how do you want to start up Windows, try the normal way first. If that doesn’t work, try going in Safe Mode. If it doesn’t ask you at all, then reboot your computer, and then startup Windows in the order I just mentioned.

    1. Tried that and the same happens. Starting up Windows the normal way gets it to immediately go to the disk check. Trying to start it through Safe Mode leads to the “Loading Windows Files” screen and text starts appearing, but again it stops and never actually loads Safe Mode.

      On the bright side, I did finally manage to get my Sims disc out of the drive, so I suppose if the worst happens I should be able to locate my recovery disc and use that.

      In the meantime, I guess I really just need to let my computer do this check disk…even if it takes over 24 hours to do so :/

      Thank you again for all of your help. It’s greatly appreciated.

      1. Well that’s not a good sign at all…

        At least you got the Sims disc out. If the recovery disc doesn’t work out–although it should–then I suggest you purchasing a Windows 7 disc. I had to do this a little over a year ago with my laptop because I couldn’t get into Safe Mode either or do anything else for that matter. I didn’t even have a recovery disc. So I bought a Windows 7 disc…I believe from Amazon. It’s expensive, but still way cheaper than purchasing a whole new computer. I think I got mine for a little over $100 and that’s including shipping+handling. :/

        1. Yeah, I’ll definitely consider both that and writing chapters on Drive! I mean, I do backup files pretty frequently because I fear something like this happening (it’s happened in the past), but clearly it wasn’t frequent enough T_T

          I mean, maybe the disc check hasn’t frozen though…maybe it’s actually trying to fix stuff….gah o_o; We’ll see.

          1. Maybe, and yeah I would let it do its thing. I’ve heard of that happening to other people and in some cases it does come to eventually.

      2. You should also try Google Drive for writing your chapters out. That’s what I do. After losing EVERYTHING I had, I got hipped to that REAL quick! LOL.

  6. I’m techie, but I’m a Machead. You clearly know your way around a Windows box, so I couldn’t offer any advice. I’m sorry you have to deal with this.

    I just want to say that I am SO RELIEVED to read that you keep off-computer backups. I read so many good legacies and stories that have to stop because the game ate the only save file.

    1. Haha, yeah that’s actually exactly why I DO keep backups. I mean this is frustrating enough, but it’d be even more devastating if I lost everything I had (which has happened to me before). At least this way my documents, photos, and Winters save are backed up. I lose everything else, but it could be worse.

      Still, wish I could figure this out before having to take such drastic measures.

      Thanks for the concern and sympathy! I may end up biting the bullet today and wiping the whole drive, but if it’s an actual issue with the HDD I may need a new computer T_T

  7. I can’t offer much except hugs and a shoulder to cry on. I’ve been there with the whole PC dying on me and I know how devastating it can be. *hugs*

    1. Aw, thank you! Hugs have actually been exactly what I’ve needed apart from a miracle, haha. It is devastating and I’ve been in this place before too, which is why I do have a backup of documents, photos, and the Winters, but I’d lose everything else if I did the full system restore. Bleh. May not have any choice though! Hopefully I’ll get this worked out soon…even if that means a new computer even though this one is only 3 years old T_T

      *happily accepts hug!!*

      Oh and also welcome to Different Winters! ^_^ I hope I can get back to posting in due time!

So What Did You Think?

