The Patronus Award (x8)

Patronus

Hello everyone! It seems that some incredibly amazing people have nominated me for the Patronus Award, AKA the Animal Award, AKA the Spirit Animal Award, AKA the Familiar Animal Award, but HEY a rose by any other name would smell as sweet and no matter what you ultimately decided to call it, the gesture is incredibly kind and all I can say is one huge “THANK YOU” to the ever wonderful Lila Remonn, blamsart, Michelle, meg, dandylion240, Late Knight Simmer, Jill, and SimComix.

So, here we go!

“Patronus Award” Acceptance Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, and link back to their page.
  • Post the pretty award picture on your blog. (I chose to call mine the Patronus Award, so I’m substituting the lovely picture above for this one)
  • Write a short paragraph about you, and what your blog means to you.
  • If you could be an animal, what would you be? Why?
  • Nominate 10 other people.

About Me and What My Blog Means to Me

Hmm well, I feel like I’ve already shared the basics of who I am through my little Author Notes and About Me page, but let’s see…what this blog means to me. This blog is my everything. There is little else in this world that can motivate me, excite me, and make me as happy as this blog does. Writing has been a part of me since I was a little kid and whenever I’m not writing, I don’t feel like myself. That’s not to say that I don’t take breaks from it, but I can never stay away from it long and if something artificially keeps me from it, it frustrates me to hell and even depresses me…..

For some, this is just a hobby, and I suppose technically it is for me too, but this “hobby” is sometimes my primary reason for getting out of bed, so somehow the word “hobby” feels wholly insufficient. Suffice it to say it is part of me, so I guess the best way to convey what this blog means to me would be to ask, “Well, how much does your arm mean to you?” Could you live without it? Sure…but that’s certainly not a choice one would generally make and there’s no denying that it would be challenging.

Patronus

I suppose I would instinctively choose some sort of solitary, mysterious feline like a black panther or something, but I don’t really know. I took loads of quizzes, but got a different result every time, from butterflies, to owls, to komodo dragons. Maybe I don’t have a happy enough memory that could fuel a corporeal patronus. Maybe all I’m conjuring are bright, but formless wisps, which sounds depressing I realize, but maybe it’s just because I haven’t fully discovered yet what I’m all about and you know, while being in the formless in-between is somewhat stressful, there’s also an excitement to it because one day, you will figure it out, and I’m looking forward to seeing that day.

I will say though that of all the descriptions I read, the one that went with “komodo dragon” felt most fitting to me:

Intimidating and misunderstood! You’ve got a mean streak, or so some would say. Deep down you’re someone that wants to connect, but has a difficult time achieving those connections. Your patronus reflects your desire to not compromise who you are as well as your need for companionship.

Komodo

I feel ya, buddy. I feel ya. Though the “mean streak” thing is a little amusing to me because I am frequently told that I’m very, very nice, but I always feel like I’m kind of mean. Maybe because I’m not a very subtle person, lmao. I don’t know. As I said, I don’t think I’ve fully figured myself out and instead of taking time to sit and reflect on it, I’d rather read, write, and play Sims, lmao.

Nominess

Okay so, this is a bit difficult for me because I’ve been so busy that I feel quite out of touch/behind on a lot of stories, but here are at least some worth taking a look at that I didn’t already nominate when I did the write-up for The Liebster Award:

Definitely consider checking these out and again, thank you so much to everyone who nominated me!!!

22 thoughts on “The Patronus Award (x8)”

    1. Hahaha, it is pretty badass, isn’t it? It’s not an animal I ever would have initially thought of either. Most of the quizzes felt really generic and silly though to be honest. I don’t put much faith in their accuracy, lmao. I guess that description wasn’t too bad though so maybe they are worth the shot. Perhaps there are some non-flash ones out there, lol.

  1. Congrats on the nomination(s)! I can definitely relate to a lot of what you said, too. I got a few different answers for my quizzes, too, but a deer came up like twice so I went with it haha Komodo Dragon though is pretty sweet! Dont eat me lmaoo *prances away like Bambi*

    1. Thank you so much!!! I’m not too surprised that you felt and had similar results considering our discovery that we are actually sisters in spirit 😉

      It is pretty sweet, but a deer is actually sweet! Mmm, so sweet. ….JUST A NIBBLE, PLEASE?!?! *scurries after*

      Lmfao RIP me. Check out that word play though…3 definitions of “sweet”!? It’s like I’m a writer or something…jeez! XD

      Thank you again, and for the nomination too! ❤

  2. OOOhhhh! I really like komodo dragons. They are some seriously amazing creatures. I remember the episode of the crocodile hunter and how he was following them after they went through the camp and was laying down with them in their area. We all thought he was crazy but nothing happened to him. Such a legend. I hope his daughter will be just like him.

    1. They really are and you know, I don’t think I ever would have thought of them had it not been for that quiz, lol. They’re quite incredible! AND OMG I totally remember that. Man though, I was so devastated when Steve Irwin died. I watched his shows like alllllll the time growing up, so it actually felt like I’d lost someone I’d known. He really was a legend and you know, from what I’ve seen, his daughter Bindi IS a whole lot like him! It’s awesome =)

  3. First of all : CONGRATULATIONS !!! You really deserve it … and so many more. 🙂

    Hmmm, a waran. Sounds dangerous at the first sight, but I have to agree with autumnrein, they are pretty amazing. They seem to be wise – if you ever can say this about an animal – and they roam earth´s surface much longer than us human beings.
    My totem animals are the raven and the bear, which are amazing creatures themselves.

    I wish, I could find some spare time to start writing again, as I miss it dearly. You are perfectly right when you say that not being able to express yourself through writing makes you somewhat depressive. *sigh* But my family and my precious four hurricanes – aka grandchildren – love to keep me busy. 😀
    Until then I will continue to follow awesome writers and their stories. And yes, this includes you ! ❤

    1. Thank you so much!!!!! That’s incredibly kind of you to say ^_^;

      Haha definitely dangerous, but also definiting amazing. One of those creatures I would like to fully admire from a safe distance! Ooooh, the raven and the bear? Absolutely! Ravens especially are such remarkably intelligent creatures and bears are so powerful. Two very awesome animals!

      In general it can be depressive when you’re kept from doing things you want, and with writing that especially seems to be true. It sounds like your little hurricanes are a lot of fun too though, so that’s definitely a loving bright side 🙂

      Gah, again, thank you so much! An awesome writer?!?! *hides beneath a large pile of blankets* You’re too much! Thank you! ;__; ❤

      1. No need to hide, dear.
        It´s always allowed to tell the truth … and it should be told loud. 😉

        You´re right, all four of them brighten my days – when every other family member fails. They are such a blessing. Especially now, as they all entered the interesting age. They are in a range between 3 months and 4 years right now. 😀

        LOL, you should see my little nook. It´s not huge, just about 3m². Every former spare place is cluttered with little sheets, which again are filled with numerous notes – waiting for me to put them into some story and sense. I´ve always been into writing and – believe it or not – almost drove my German teacher nuts with too long essays. 😀 Ach, those were the days, lol.
        Nah, honestly, I miss writing. There are too many ideas running wild in my head and I really need to get rid of them somewhen soon. 😀 *keep your fingers crossed for me*

        *biiig hug* ❤

        1. Thank youuuu ;__;

          And oh wow, definitely an interesting age range! XD Some of the most fun (and most exhausting) years too, hehe. Enjoy them while they last….The years pass by so much faster they we expect them to o_o

          In the meantime, perhaps once they’re off to bed you might be able to sneak in a bit of writing? I know all too well what you mean about ideas running wild in your head and needing to get rid of them! Sometimes I’ll stop in the middle of what I’m doing just to jot down some quick notes on paper or in my phone. I must have about a hundred “Notes” on my phone actually, not to mention loads of Word documents with tons of ideas that I’ve never fully developed, lol.

          *fingers and toes crossed for you!!* *RETURNS BIG HUG!* ❤

    1. Thank you so much!!! Definitely a cool animal and not one I would have inititally considered. I’d certainly feel safe with it protecting me from Dementors though, that’s for sure!

  4. It’s actually due to this award that I found your story! Blamsart is one of my online friends and their story is amazing, so when yours was in the recommended stories list, I totally had to give it a shot! Suffice to say I have spent the last few days catching up on everything and I have to say that each generation is better than the last. I keep thinking I know who my favourite couple is and then you blow them out of the water with the next one! I have to say that I have a big soft spot for Gus and Patrick, and my heart bleeds for Gem! Jo and Gabe are so perfect together, I can’t wait to see how their kid(s) turn out. But, all of your matchings have been perfect. I will admit to bawling my eyes out when Gabe told Jo she had to leave. Not many stories can make me cry!

    1. Haha, well hey then, that just makes me even more grateful and happy to have been nominated! I love these awards too for precisely that reason: You can discover a blog you may not have otherwise heard of through them! I’m so glad that you decided to give this one a shot and that you stuck with it seeing as the first generations were written years ago and are a bit rough around the edges, lolol.

      I’m glad to hear that each generation tops the last though, especially because that’s always one of my main goals…to continue to improve. Of course, now I’m a bit nervous for the 6th generation (maybe one of the reasons I seem to be stalling it?) because I want to top this one, but I don’t think any of my current ideas will quite do that! Maybe? Hopefully!? dfjaskfshdkf, lol.

      Aww yes, just writing Augustus and Patrick makes me grin like a moron sometimes. They’re undeniably cute ^_^; Gemma thoughhhhh, my baby T_T She is so quickly rising to the ranks amongst my favorites, I swear. Course my favorites often get the roughest lives so who knows, that may or may not be a bad thing for her. We’ll just have to see 😉

      Oh man, Joanne and Gabriel are definitely one of my favorite couples. It’s to the point where I find myself referring to the 5th generation as “Joanne and Gabriel’s story” instead of simply “Joanne’s.” I’m REALLY looking forward to seeing how their kids turn out too and I’m actually kind of kicking myself for not getting back into their story and finishing it already! I do have a pretty detailed storyboard for the rest of the generation at least, but I find that I write in bursts. Like I’ll spend a few days writing like crazy and then feel completely unmotivated for weeks. Ugh. It’s so annoying because I just want to be like..continuously writing so I can get chapters up faster, lol.

      Thank you so much ;____; I teared up writing that scene myself, but it’s one thing to be sad over your own characters and another thing entirely to actually be able to move others’ to feel the same so gah, seriously, THANK YOU. You’re too kind!!

      Welcome to Different Winters and thank you a million for reading and commenting! ❤

      1. This story is fabulous, and I’m sure I speak for everyone when I say that we are more than willing to wait for more whenever you are ready. I’m doing a Legacy (of sorts) and I can understand the lack of posting. I’ve been at it for a month and I’ve only done about 3 updates lol either RL or depression or writer’s block keeps interfering. OMG I just used myself and writer’s block in the same sentence O_O *score*

        Gabranne/Jobriel/other ship-name is one of the most adorable couples I have come across in Sims stories, and believe me when I say I have read a gazillion of them and by fantastic writers! Not that you’re not fantastic lol I just meant OTHER fantastic writers (James and Kyxa [Jaxa] from Blamsart’s Whitelights comes to mind)

        I will definitely be eagerly awaiting the next installment, whenever that may be. Stories like this one are well worth the wait!
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

        1. Again, thank you soooooo much ;___; I hope that’s right too because I apparently can only write in short bursts where I get suddenly massively inspired and hammer out thousands of words, and then I go weeks in which I’m like “How do I sentence?” I’m in “Can’t sentence” mode at the moment, but I’m trying to coax my brain back into, “I AM ALIVE WITH ALL THE FOCUSED CREATIVITY IN THE WORLD” mode. So far all I’ve been able to convince it to do is give me random useless scenes though. jdfksfsndhfjks, why? T_T lol. Where was I even going with this story? *face palm* Bottom line: Writer’s block is just the worst.

          Awwwwwwwwww, thank you! Jobriel melts my heart ;__; Arghhh I really need to read Blamsart’s story because I’ve heard such good things about it, but there’s soooooooooooooo many chapters that I feel overwhelmed by how to even start! I guess just from the beginning and one chapter at a time! lol. I hear that it’s worth the read =)

          Yay!! I really, really appreciate you saying that. It would double suck if it took me forever to get out updates and then they weren’t even worth it, lol. That being said, I have SUCH an exciting roller coaster ahead for you all if I can just get my thoughts back on track! *begins bribing tactics with brain* Extra sleep? Coffee? I’ll go outside? Yeah? YEAH!? Hahahah XD ❤

          1. Lol yeah we totally understand!

            As for Blamsart’s story: OMG! It is epic! I think I joined in the middle of Gen 2 or 3 and I haven’t looked back! The story is in Gen 9 now and yeah, there is a buttload of chapters, but it will be so worth your time! Especially as a means to distract you from stressing about your writer’s block (which I hear makes it worse anyway lol) just expect to put about 3 weeks aside to actually get through it all XD I do envy you the task though, because you’re going to be able to read the earlier chapters as one flowing piece, instead of waiting for the cliff-hangers to be sorted out (or not) the next week lol

            So stop bribing your brain, she’ll be ready when she’s ready (although if she’s being stubborn like this, maybe she’s actually a he lol). And we’ll be here waiting til she’s ready ❤
            Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

So What Did You Think?

